Tech Tuesday: Haiku Deck

Haiku Deck cover

I know today is Wednesday, but I like the sound of Tech Tuesday, so I’m trying it on for size. On Tuesdays I want to tell you about  projects my students are currently doing with their iPads, as well as give updates about the apps we’re using currently and how we like them.

This week we are making Haiku Decks. It is the week before Spring Break, so the students are planning a hypothetical vacation. Their decks have to be about a place they would like to visit. They must consist of at least eight slides: A cover slide, means of travel, places of interest, typical food, where they would stay and things they would do there. They have to research the places to learn these things. Once it is complete, they will present it to the class and write a paragraph about their trip.

They all have learned to use the application and to add photos from within it as well as from other sources such as Google images or their own camera roll. One good thing about this is that it is an online source as well as an iPad app, so in the future, if the high school doesn’t have iPads they can still prepare presentations online and present them to the class. I think it’s important for our students to be agile with technology and comfortable with making presentations. As 21st Century students, they will need this in their lives.  At least that’s what I tell them, and I do believe it to be true.

Haiku Deck is a really attractive presentation software.  I have made a variety of these and they are easy to make and I think, beautiful. I’ve linked my vacation presentation below. I hoped I could embed it here, but it appears not to be possible from this site. The link will take you to the Deck as well as the notes about it.

Here is another one  that is a poem I wrote that mimics Wallace Stevens’ “Thirteen Ways of Looking At A Blackbird.” I called it “Thirteen Ways of Looking at A Classroom.” I include it so you can see another way this app can be used in a classroom.

So what do you think? Could you see a use for this app? I’m still exploring the possibilities of this application and I’d love to know what else you discover. Have a good week!

Leave a Reply

