Finally Using the iPads!!

In my classroom I have a class set of iPads. What a blessing, really. They sat there for a year because we didn’t have wi-fi or apps, but now we have both, and we are making good use of them. At first I was a little timid about how in the world I’d introduce all those apps, but once I was able to use them it was clear that we’d use them one at at a time! I explained to the students that we were going to change how we do class, and we would all be learning together. And so we embarked on this new way of doing school.

The first issue was the photos. Our students are accustomed to using their phones and iPods and other electronics for fun. Games, Facebook, Snapchat,and Instagram are their venues. If they ever had an email address it was just for making a Facebook account and they had no idea what else it might be used for. So it makes sense that they’d be gaga over the PhotoBooth app with the twisted and swirled pictures. Every day was a laugh fest. No matter what I said or threatened, the laughing went on, making it obvious that the photos were happening. Usually only that. What they really liked to do was go to You Tube and put on some music they liked, pop on a pair of headphones (Bright blue – I call them my “Beats) that I bought inexpensively from Apple when I bought the iPads and listen to music while they took photos of their buddies and themselves. This was so frustrating because nothing school oriented was happening. So I fixed it. I restricted the photos. Here’s how:

Go to Settings > General > Restrictions. You’ll have to create a password and then click “Enable Restrictions.”
From there you’ll be able to choose what to restrict. Choosing Photos also restricts Photo Booth. I also restricted the app store and a couple of other things. The other thing I noticed was that You Tube was set to “Explicit.” I changed that as well. The result was the music they can listen to is clean and the photo apps have disappeared completely. In the future, if we want to do a project that requires photos I’ll just unrestrict them for that app.

Each student is assigned an iPad that they use every time. This is important because their login for Edmodo is set up on their iPad. In addition, if any issues come up we know each iPad has only been used by two or three kids, one per section of my students.

Once I got rid of the obsessive photos, I introduced them to Edmodo. I had already created a class, so it was a matter of each of them signing up for it and entering our class code. This is such a great app. I give them assignments there nearly every day. After a few assignments, I showed them how I would be putting the Edmodo grades on their actual classroom grade. Just in case they thought it was just for fun, I wanted them to see that it’s real. I make assignments there, quizzes and polls. It is so easy to use and they like it a lot. every day they make a few chatty comments, but then they go to do their work. I delete the comments at the end of the day, and their assignments remain. (The comments are not anything school oriented, and they are not attached to their preservation at all. Things like “Go Brazil!” followed by “Go Colombia! Brazil sucks!” are just fun in the moment. They get that.)

Edmodo has a number of apps that can be attached to the class, such as BlendSpace and a Photo Editor. We have yet to try those. I highly recommend giving Edmodo a try. As a housekeeping tip, it’s better to use Edmodo.com on the computer to do grading and all the other teacher chores. They can be done on an iPad but it’s more streamlined to use the full site on a computer for this.

Screen Shot 2014-11-12 at 6.26.49 PM

The other apps we’ve used so far include Flashcards+ for making Vocabulary flashcards to study before a test and the Accelerated Reader app for taking AR tests and Educreations for making presentations. I’ll explain how we did that in another post. It got a little messy, but we worked around it! We’re working on using Haiku Deck next whenever the problem preventing its use is solved. I assigned the flashcards in Edmodo, and the students had to leave the app to make them. In order to give them credit for them they showed them to me and I marked them handed in. A little unwieldy, but we have the app and I wanted to use it. I could attach one of those apps to the Edmodo classroom, and I probably will in the future. I’m not sure how that’ll work but I’ll let you know when I try it.

Let me know if you have any questions about how we’re rolling this out. So far it’s going well. If you have any great tips for me, I’ll be glad to hear about them as well!

Leave a Reply

