Sub Plan Update

Well, Wednesday has come and gone.  I promised an update on my sub plan question, so here goes.  First, I got a sub the students like, who also likes them.  That was a pretty good start.  The day before I was going to be gone I typed my sub plans in a large font and showed them to my students.  We drew sticks to see who would pass out the folders and journals the next day, and I added those students’ names to the plan.  Each class knew what was expected and all and all it went pretty well.  The three girls-who-often-cut-when-there-is-a-sub didn’t cut, so that was good.  They did lie to the sub, however, and say that they always get to sit five kids around my one large table.  Despite the fact that their names are written on their desks with Sharpie, the sub believed them.  He did ask me about it, however, so those girls were met at the door on Thursday with little tickets to do a lunch period of campus cleanup.  They only complained a little bit.  All in all I think it was a good day.  The one caveat is that I was on campus and did teach one demo period, at the end of the day.  We’ll see how it goes the next time, when I have an all day sub!

I thank everyone who commented on my last post.  I will definitely revisit those comments the next time I need a sub, as they really made me think about what I was going to do.

3 thoughts on “Sub Plan Update

  1. Bonnie Kaplan says:

    I didn’t read your first post on this but I did love your prep on missing a class. I NEVER let kids know if I would be missing a class and you know, I should have. Yes, I did work hard to get I sub I knew would work well with my kids but why did I keep it a deep dark secret?
    I love the way you brought the kids into the experience and then held some responsible for taking advantage.

    Great!

    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

