Never-ending CELDT Testing

Geez, will the CELDT testing never end?  I’m responsible for completing the California English Language Development Testing at our school.  This is an annual test that all English learners in CA must take prior to October 31.  At our school we have 244 English learners currently, which is a lot of tests!  Each one has an individual speaking portion, plus Reading (1 hour), Writing (close to an hour) and Listening (20 minutes) portions.  We do the masses of them in the ELD classes, but the 70 some English learners who are in mainstream classes also have to be tested.

I have a free hour at the end of the day for doing EL tasks, which is great and I appreciate it, but it means that the testing gets really dragged out.  Yesterday at the end of the day, I thought I was down to 5 scraps of tests to give, when I found a container which held about 20 tests that needed extra attention.  They will not be a big deal, but are just more detail, more chachara to cope with.  I am determined to finish all of it by tomorrow afternoon.  I just get so caught up in teaching that the testing time gets whittled down and I decide I’ll just finish next week or tomorrow or OMG! today.

Finishing it will feel like an albatross lifted from my shoulders.  Then I will begin doing the redesignations of those who have met all of the qualifications for that.  It’s always something.

4 thoughts on “Never-ending CELDT Testing

  1. iztac says:

    Wow!! – I don’t know how you have done so many CELDT tests – considering that you have been given little support. Good luck with all the resdesignations amiga. Hope to talk to you soon!

  2. lynnjake says:

    Sorry I missed this comment, Delaine. I can only imagine the magnitude of testing 800 kids. The most I’ve had to facilitate was about 450. I don’t know why my 244 seemed so huge this year, but it did. Aren’t you glad it’s all over? Now on to the redesignations.

  3. Tom says:

    This test is unreasonably long. I give it to @ 150 students a year. The crazy thing is most students drop out and are not around to take it the following year which makes tracking progress impossible, ergo, a complete waste of time and money. They should be able to design a much shorter test that’s both valid and reliable, or at least make it so we don’t have to hand score it in order to have immediate feedback. Blargh.

Leave a Reply

