OMG. Where do I go with this?

I am so good at seeing the tiniest flicker of light at the end of any tunnel in which I find myself.  In my last school post, I was seeing the possibility of improvement, a hint of impending balance.  Hah!  Not today.  I don’t know what is going on at school this week, if it is just me or if it is something bigger.  I do know there have been more fights this week than any previous week – two of my students are suspended for that at the moment.  Tardies on the campus are out of control it seems like.  That is not my particular issue, but I do see a lot of kids just strolling to class after the bell has rung.  In my classroom the kids are nearly riotously talkative.  I think what bothers me the most is that there are a lot of them who are willing to be quiet and work, but the loud ones make that impossible.  I feel like a bad teacher because I can’t seem to get on top of the loud ones.  The quiet ones who want to work need the help a great deal, and I’m not able to help them much. It really isn’t fair.

Maybe I’ll try making a list of things I could do to remedy the situation (I recently read that making a long list helps you get past the fluff to some underlying gems – it’s worth a try!):

1.  Call their parents.  That would be about 20 phone calls.  Or more.

2.  Give them detention if they don’t get their work done.  (Punishment for me)

3.  Dump McDougall Littel. Use something more engaging.  What would that be?

4.  Design some project-based learning experience.  Can I stay on top of projects and standards at the same time?  Surely I can.  Surely.

5.  Refer them to the office.  Then what?

6.  Play classical music in the classroom.

7.  Make a new seating chart.  Again and again until I get it right.

8.  Have them complete the “refocus” form that we were given at the beginning of the year.  I thought it was overkill, but maybe not.

9.  What else?  I guess I’ll keep working on this offsite (offblog?) and see if I come up with anything.

I am so tired, and so disheartened.

2 thoughts on “OMG. Where do I go with this?

  1. Janice Robertson says:

    I really like the idea of making a list of possible solutions. Even the process of writing down the ideas can be helpful. I’ve changed schools and the school I’m in now has some very needy students. Their math skills are quiet weak, but more importantly, they don’t have the understanding of math that I want for them. I’m going to try creating a list of ways I can help offset the weaknesses.

    Thanks,
    Janice

  2. leta1950 says:

    I don’t know if this is a valuable suggestion since I’m not a teacher and I only work with a writing workshop once a week, but I’ve found sometimes I just can’t seem to get the talkers engaged. So i started doing this group writing project where we are writing a scary story together. It brings the energy up and the talkers and the non-talkers are working together- oddly it almost feels like working on a collaborative project because I stand at the board and lead them and write down their comments and it doesn’t matter if they talk over each other because I pull stuff out- saying- “what? What? you said empty hospital!” Its fun for me to and then I work on the story at home so it progresses some. I really ended up doing it in a panicked- OMG moment. I don’t know if it will work every time or if it would apply to you in anyway, but it does seem to help build some solidarity in the group. Also I have 13 kids to I don’t know how many you have. Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

